• deutsch

Drop in and let the Malzfabrik enchant you.

Exhibitions 20. Nov - 29. Nov 2014
Exhibitions Th | 24. Sep 2009 | 10:00
Decolonizing 68
Specials Tu | 03. Apr 2018 | 18:30

Decolonizing 68

German black and PoC students, and in particular students from Africa, Asia and Latin America who studied at Western German universities in the early 1960s were highly politicized by the civil rights movement in the US, the liberation movements, the process of decolonization or the newly acquired state independence of their countries. They were the first to mobilize protests against state violence and injustice beyond Europe and North America.

 

As 2018 marks the fiftieth anniversary of 1968, we take this opportunity to engage with the student movement of the 1960s in Germany from decolonial, post-migrant and feminist perspectives. Here, the focus is on the visualization of the role of Black students and students of Color in the Federal Republic at the time, as well as the deconstruction of the white narration of this constitutive moment for the Federal Republic today.

 

Under the title Decolonizing 68 District realizes a series of talks, screenings and encounters together with the District studio grant artist Karina Griffith (artist, curator und filmmaker), who works on this topic. The aim is to question the production of history and to (re)tell the movements of that time from the perspectives of its anti-colonial, diasporic-feminist and black organizations.

 

For the co-production of artistic research and public debate under the working title Decolonize 68 an intersectional alliance of the project Art of the Revolt // The Revolt of Art, Offenes Haus der Kulturen Frankfurt/Main, the Art Spaces District Berlin, Arsenal Gallery Poznan and alpha nova & galerie futura as well as Peggy Piesche, Gunda-Werner-Institut was founded. Together we want like to counter the ongoing marginalization of these histories -- the resistances and political demands they carry -- within the constantly reproduced narrations of '68'.

 

District Berlin
Tuesday, 3rd April 7.30 pm
Studio Talk with Karina Griffith and Joseph N. Clarke

 

With kind support from Berliner Landeszentrale für politische Bildung.

 

An event by District Berlin

• english

Kommt vorbei und lasst euch
in der Malzfabrik verzaubern.

Führungen Sa | 26. Mär 2016 | 13:45
Decolonizing 68
Besonderes Di | 03. Apr 2018 | 18:30

Decolonizing 68

Schwarze deutsche und PoC Student*innen, sowie Student*innen aus Afrika, Asien und Lateinamerika, die in den frühen 1960er Jahren an Westdeutschen Universitäten studierten und durch die Bürgerrechtsbewegung in den USA, die Befreiungsbewegungen, die Prozesse der Dekolonialisierung oder die gerade erlangte staatliche Unabhängigkeit ihrer Länder stark politisiert waren, waren die ersten, die zu Protesten gegen staatliche Gewalt und Ungerechtigkeit jenseits von Europa und Nordamerika mobilisierten.

 

Da sich 2018 das Jahr 1968 zum fünfzigsten Mal jährt, möchte District Berlin dies zum Anlass nehmen und sich mit dekolonialer, postmigrantischer und feministischer Perspektive mit der Student*innenbewegung im Deutschland der 60er Jahre befassen. Dabei steht die Sichtbarmachung der Rolle Schwarzer Student*innen und von Student*innen of Color in der damaligen Bundesrepublik im Fokus sowie die Dekonstruktion der weißen Narration dieses für die heutige Bundesrepublik so konstitutiven Moments.

 

Unter dem Titel Decolonizing 68 realisiert District gemeinsam mit der District-Atlierstipendiatin Karina Griffith (Künstlerin, Kuratorin und Filmemacherin), die zu diesem Thema arbeitet, eine Reihe von Gespräche, Screenings und Begegnungen. Damit möchten sie die Produktion von Geschichte hinterfragen und die Bewegungen jener Zeit aus den Perspektiven ihrer anti-kolonialen, diasporischen, feministischen und Schwarzen Organisierungen (neu) erzählen.

 

Der anhaltenden Marginalisierung dieser Geschichte(n) - und der sich bis heute aus ihnen fortschreibenden Widerstände und politischen Forderungen - in den stetig reproduzierten Erzählungen von ‚68’ möchte der intersektionale Zusammenschluss der Ausstellung Kunst der Revolte // Revolte der Kunst, Offenes Haus der Kulturen Frankfurt/Main, der Kunsträume District Berlin, Arsenal Gallery Poznan und alpha nova & galerie futura sowie Peggy Piesche, Gunda-Werner-Institut, aktiv begegnen.

 

District Berlin
Dienstag, 3. April 18.30 Uhr
Studio Talk mit Karina Griffith und Joseph N. Clarke

 

Gefördert durch die Berliner Landeszentrale für politische Bildung.

 

Eine Veranstaltung von District Berlin