• deutsch

Drop in and let the Malzfabrik enchant you.

Exhibitions 20. Nov - 29. Nov 2014
Exhibitions Th | 24. Sep 2009 | 10:00
Class languages
Exhibitions 20. Jul - 17. Sep 2017

Class languages

“The sign is the arena of C.”

 

In dictionary entries, their initials represent terms after their first mention. Class, class struggle, class contradiction, as well as crisis, catastrophe, and colonialism turn into C. Our C. stands for Class Languages. Given the inextricable crisis of legitimacy of global capitalism and the rise of right-wing populisms, we witness a return to the repressed relation of Class – a return that is enacted in many tongues.

 

With CLASS LANGUAGES, District want to bring together a panorama of these filters – an assembly of forms of possible ‘ways out’, as Gilles Deleuze und Félix Guattari phrased it with Franz Kafka: “A line of escape, and not freedom. A vital escape and not an attack.” We want to take the increasingly differentiated language practices of contemporary art – in Berlin and beyond – as a starting point and search for class languages that delineate ‘ways out’, where attacks all too often defer to the syntax of what is attacked.

 

With the three threads of the project—exhibition, magazine, and debate – District seek to examine how the assertion of CLASS LANGUAGES can be made productive in the context of contemporary art: how can the goals and desires of authors and addressees be shared, how can professionalized forms of writing about art be reconfigured, how can an assembly of escape figurations bring forth provisory forms of living? We want to examine the classes that speak from within us—nostalgic, contemporary, and future ones, exclusive or inclusive ones—and which lines of flight they indicate.

 

Artists and authors
Kai Althoff/Isa Genzken, Gerry Bibby, Cana Bilir-Meier, Sean Bonney, Hans-Christian Dany, Övül Ö. Durmuşoğlu, Michaela Eichwald, Frank Engster, Fehras Publishing Practices, keyon gaskin, Sarah Harrison, Ann Hirsch, HATE MAGAZIN, Karl Holmqvist, Stephan Janitzky, Jutta Koether, Justin Lieberman, Hanne Lippard, Thomas Locher, Sidsel Meineche Hansen, Karolin Meunier, Rachel O’Reilly, Phase 2, Johannes Paul Raether, Monika Rinck, Aykan Safoğlu, Juliana Spahr, spot the silence, Starship, Josef Strau, Marlene Streeruwitz, Hans Stützer, Linda Stupart, Ryan Trecartin, Peter Wächtler, Ian White, Tanja Widmann, Frank B. Wilderson III, Susanne Winterling, Alenka Zupančič and others.

 

Program

20th of July, 7 pm | Exhibition Opening

21st and 22nd of July | Debate: Lectures, Discussions, and Presentations


The opening weekend will be accompanied by a program of artistic and theoretical contributions that will chart the contested terrain of class languages and put up for debate its potentialities and problems.

 

16th of September | Magazine launch, Debate, Party

 

Opening hours of the exhibition
21st of July - 17th of September 2017, Wednesday - Sunday, 2 pm - 6 pm

 

CLASS LANGUAGES is a long-term collaboration initiated by Manuela Ammer, Eva Birkenstock, Jenny Nachtigall, Kerstin Stakemeier, and Stephanie Weber.

 

For further information click here>> take a look at the District Website.

 

A project by District Berlin, funded by Hauptstadtkulturfonds Berlin.

• english

Kommt vorbei und lasst euch
in der Malzfabrik verzaubern.

Führungen Sa | 26. Mär 2016 | 13:45
Klassensprachen
Ausstellungen 20. Jul - 17. Sep 2017

Klassensprachen

„Das Zeichen wird zur Arena des K.“

 

In Wörterbucheinträgen wird das besprochene Wort nach seiner ersten Nennung durch seine Initiale repräsentiert. Klasse, Klassenkampf, Klassenwiderspruch werden, ebenso wie Krise, Katastrophe oder Kolonialismus, zu K. Das K. steht für Klassensprachen. Angesichts der unauflösbaren Legitimationskrisen des global agierenden Kapitalismus und des Aufstiegs von Rechtspopulismen gibt es derzeit eine Rückkehr zur verdrängten Relation von Klasse zu verzeichnen – eine Rückkehr, die selbst viele Sprachen spricht.

 

Mit KLASSENSPRACHEN will District ein Panorama dieser Filter zusammenführen – eine Formsammlung möglicher „Auswege“, wie Gilles Deleuze und Félix Guattari es mit Franz Kafka formulierten: „Nicht die Freiheit, sondern ein Ausweg. Nicht ein Angriff, sondern eine lebendige Fluchtlinie.“ Es soll die immer weiter ausdifferenzierten Sprachpraxen der Gegenwartskunst – in Berlin und darüber hinaus – zum Ausgangspunkt einer Suche nach Klassensprachen nehmen, die Auswege anzeigen, wo Angriffe sich zu oft der Syntax des Angegriffenen beugen.

 

Mit den drei Strängen des Projekts – Ausstellung, Magazin und Debatte – will District anhand unterschiedlicher Formate prüfen, wie die Behauptung von Klassensprachen in der Bildenden Kunst produktiv gemacht werden kann: wie die Ziele und Begehren von Schreibenden und AdressatInnen teilbar werden, wie sich auch professionalisierte Formen des Schreibens über Kunst neu konfigurieren lassen, wie eine Formsammlung von Auswegen provisorische Lebensformen hervorbringen kann. Welche Klassen heute aus uns sprechen – nostalgische, gegenwärtige, zukünftige, exklusive oder inklusive – und welche Auswege sie signalisieren, das wollen wir testen.

 

KünstlerInnen und AutorInnen
Kai Althoff/Isa Genzken, Gerry Bibby, Cana Bilir-Meier, Sean Bonney, Hans-Christian Dany, Övül Ö. Durmuşoğlu, Michaela Eichwald, Frank Engster, Fehras Publishing Practices, keyon gaskin, Sarah Harrison, Ann Hirsch, HATE MAGAZIN, Karl Holmqvist, Stephan Janitzky, Jutta Koether, Justin Lieberman, Hanne Lippard, Thomas Locher, Sidsel Meineche Hansen, Karolin Meunier, Rachel O’Reilly, Phase 2, Johannes Paul Raether, Monika Rinck, Aykan Safoğlu, Juliana Spahr, spot the silence, Starship, Josef Strau, Marlene Streeruwitz, Hans Stützer, Linda Stupart, Ryan Trecartin, Peter Wächtler, Ian White, Tanja Widmann, Frank B. Wilderson III, Susanne Winterling, Alenka Zupančič und andere.


Programm

20. Juli 2017, 19.00 Uhr | Ausstellungseröffnung

21. und 22. Juli 2017 | Debatte: Vorträge, Diskussionen und Präsentationen


Am Eröffnungswochenende werden künstlerische und theoretische Beiträge das umkämpfte Terrain von Klassensprachen kartieren sowie dessen Potentiale und Probleme zur Disposition stellen.

 

16. September 2017 | Magazin Launch, Debatte, Party

 

Öffnungszeiten der Ausstellung
21. Juli bis 17. September, Mittwoch bis Sonntag, 14.00 - 18.00 Uhr

 

Klassensprachen wurde von Manuela Ammer, Eva Birkenstock, Jenny Nachtigall, Kerstin Stakemeier und Stephanie Weber als langfristige Kollaboration initiiert.

 

Weitere Informationen gibt es hier>> und auf der District Website.

 

Ein Projekt von District Berlin, gefördert durch den Hauptstadtkulturfonds Berlin.