• deutsch

Drop in and let the Malzfabrik enchant you.

Exhibitions 20. Nov - 29. Nov 2014
Exhibitions Th | 24. Sep 2009 | 10:00
Month of Performance Art Berlin: FAMILIAR BINARIES
Exhibitions 16. May - 17. May 2013

Month of Performance Art Berlin: FAMILIAR BINARIES

16 May 2013, 8 pm
Month of Performance Art Berlin
FAMILIAR BINARIES
Seda Yildiz


On the occasion of the Month of Performance Art Berlin and in the framework its ongoing series of exhibition experiments and performative exercise (Dis)playing paper, hours and constellations District presents the performance Familiar Binaries by Seda Yildiz. Grounded on the exploration of the contradictory potentials of what we refer to as "unknown", Yildiz' ongoing project Familiar Binaries takes an indirect and doubtful approach to unsettle epistemological narratives within pieces of history, theory and art. As a work in progress, the performance is a collage, a temporary archive or book in the making which questions ideas of authorship, representation and completeness.

17 May 2013, 7 pm
(Dis)playing paper, hours and constellations
Performances by Miss Machine, Achim Lengerer/ Scriptings, Fausto Majistral and Conversations with Susanne Husse (Curator District), Jana Sotzko and Theresa Stroetges (Musicologists, curators of VISUAL AID), Roman Schramm and Paul Sochacki (artists, SKULPI III).
Starting point for the series (Dis)playing paper, hours and constellations are different forms of art publication projects respectively artists' expanded drawing and writing practices. From January 31 to May 25, 2013, District Kunst und Kulturförderung Berlin presents four exhibition experiments and performative exercises under this title, which are developed by artists, theorists and curators from the edition and magazine formats Scriptings, VOLUME, SKULPI III and the research project on contemporary musical notation, VISUAL AID.
On May 17, the participants of the four different exhibition parts meet to reflect their contributions and to discuss the project (Dis)playing paper, hours and constellations in an open conversation. The conversation will be framed by the music performances of Miss Machine and Fausto Majistral as part of VISUAL AID and a lecture by Achim Lengerer/ Scriptings on his Rehearsing P.W.: documents and footnotes.

District Kunst- und Kulturförderung
Malzfabrik, Bessemerstraße 2–14
12103 Berlin
T  +49 30 71 09 30 93
M +49 17 84 58 39 75
post@district-berlin.com
www.district-berlin.com

• english

Kommt vorbei und lasst euch
in der Malzfabrik verzaubern.

Führungen Sa | 26. Mär 2016 | 13:45
Month of Performance Art Berlin: FAMILIAR BINARIES
Ausstellungen 16. Mai - 17. Mai 2013

Month of Performance Art Berlin: FAMILIAR BINARIES

16. Mai 2013, 20 Uhr
Month of Performance Art Berlin
FAMILIAR BINARIES
Seda Yildiz


Anlässlich des Month of Performance Art Berlin und im Rahmen der Reihe von Ausstellungsexperimenten und performativen Übungen (Dis)playing paper, hours and constellations präsentiert District die Performance Familiar Binaries von Seda Yildiz. Ihr fortlaufendes Projekt Familiar Binaries untersucht das widersprüchliche Potential im Begriff des „Unbekannten“.  Yildiz verfolgt einen bewusst indirekten und zweifelnden Ansatz, um erkenntnistheoretische Narrative innerhalb von Geschichte, Theorie und Kunst zu destabilisieren. Als Kollage in progress, als temporäres Archiv oder entstehendes Buch hinterfragt die Performance Ideen von Autorschaft, Repräsentation und Vollständigkeit. 

17. Mai 2013, 19 Uhr
(Dis)playing paper, hours and constellations
Performances von Miss Machine, Achim Lengerer/ Scriptings, Fausto Majistral und Konversationen mit Susanne Husse (Kuratorin District), Jana Sotzko und Theresa Stroetges (Musikwissenschaftlerinnen, Kuratorinnen VISUAL AID), Roman Schramm und Paul Sochacki (Künstler, SKULPI III).


Ausgangspunkt für die Serie (Dis)playing paper, hours and constellations bilden unterschiedliche Formen künstlerischer Publikationsprojekte bzw. bildnerisch erweiterter Zeichen- und Schreibpraxis. Vom 31. Januar bis 25. Mai 2013 präsentiert die District Kunst- und Kulturförderung Berlin unter diesem Titel vier Ausstellungsexperimente und performative Übungen, die Künstler_innen, Theoretiker_innen und Kurator_innen aus den Editions- bzw. Magazinformaten Scriptings, VOLUME, SKULPI III und dem Forschungsprojekt zu zeitgenössischen Musiknotationen, VISUAL AID, heraus entwickeln.
Am 17. Mai treffen Teilnehmer_innen aus den vier unterschiedlichen Ausstellungsteilen zusammen, um ihre Beiträge in einem offenen Gespräch zu reflektieren und das Projekt (Dis)playing paper, hours and constellations als Gesamtes zu diskutieren. Das Gespräch wird umrahmt von den VISUAL AID - Musikperformances von Miss Machine und Fausto Majistral und eingeleitet von einem Vortrag von Achim Lengerer/ Scriptings zu Proben zu P.W.: Dokumente und Fußnoten.

 

District Kunst- und Kulturförderung
Malzfabrik, Bessemerstraße 2–14
12103 Berlin
T  +49 30 71 09 30 93
M +49 17 84 58 39 75
post@district-berlin.com
www.district-berlin.com