The Malzfabrik – a place with history. The former malt house was already mechanized before World War II and only needed small repairs after 1945 before taking up its intended purpose again. The Russians had taken the heavy equipment and so a lot of the work was done by hand when it reopened in 1950. The old malt house was refitted with electromechanical units by 1960 and new buildings were planned and constructed. The unique building ensemble with its very own charm in the convenient location of Berlin Tempelhof/Schöneberg still stands today and fascinates through partly untouched industrial facilities, red brick buildings and its wide streets.
1914: The Schultheiss Brauerei AG decides to build a modern malt house.
1914-1917: Construction of the old malt house, administration building, machine house, bottling center, wagon shed, stable and depot.
1921: Opening ceremony
1926: Start of production
1945: The Russians dismantle and remove heavy equipment
1958-1959: Building of the new malt house and the heating station
1962-1963: Building of the malt silo
1996: Production is stopped
2005: The compound is bought by Frank Sippel and his company Real Future AG
2008: Start of refurbishment work and development planning
For more information about the history of the Malzfabrik please download the following document: "Von der Gerste bis zum Malz" from Iris Nugel and Dr. Thomas Radtke.